divbblog

Sunday Morning

Posted on: December 30, 2012

Sunday Morning

One Sunday morning while attending church I sat right beside this sweet dear older lady whom I’ve known for several years. She had started crying during mass. I looked over at her. She had such pain in her eyes. I wanted to reach over and comfort her. But, I hesitated to do so as I was afraid to interrupt the Priest who was talking. I kept feeling compelled to comfort her. A little voice in me kept saying “tell her everything is going to be just fine”. I finally gave into this feeling and leaned over and touched her shoulder and whispered “everything is going to be just fine”. She jumped back a bit startled, like she had just seen a ghost. She responded by saying, “Diane, is that really you?” I was confused by her reaction; apparently she didn’t know it was me sitting beside her as I had pulled my hair up differently and was wearing a new suit so she hadn’t recognized me. She had no clue it was me beside her, as she had heard I was brought in the night before by ambulance. She thought I was still in the hospital. She told me at that moment when she was crying she was praying to God to give me another chance at life, so I could be around to raise my four children. She continued by saying that she had no idea I was beside her. She also said she couldn’t believe how fast God had answered her prayer because at that same moment she was praying for me I had reached over and whispered,
“Everything was going to be just fine.” See God does answer prayer!

Written By: Diane Van Bommel

Leave a comment

Categories